MICDE $4k Top-off Fellowships

2018-2019 MICDE Fellows: Kexin Zhang, Khoi Dang, Sabrina Lynch, Sicen Du, Kyle Bushick, Zhitong Bai, Alicia Petersen, Nathan Vaughn, Sehwan Chung, Jia Li, Samar Minallah, Bu Zhao, Vyas Ramasubramani, Fabricio Vasselai, Geunyeong Byeon, Samuel Young, Everardo Olide, Shaowu Pan [not pictured: Blair Winograd, Joseph Hollowed]

Since 2014, MICDE has offered top-off fellowships to current and prospective students whose research project involves the use and advancement of scientific computing techniques and practices. These fellowships, which carry a $4,000 stipend, are meant to augment other sources of funding. Fellows may use the funds to attend a conference, buy a computer, or any other approved activity that will enhance her/his graduate experience. We ask Fellows to attend the MICDE seminar series and to present a poster at the MICDE Annual Symposium.



2019-2020 MICDE Fellowships call for applications is now Open

  • You must be enrolled in the Ph.D. in Scientific Computing, the Graduate Certificate in Computational Discovery & Engineering or the Graduate Certificate in Computational Neuroscience. Students can submit fellowship and Certificate/PhD applications simultaneously. See http://micde.umich.edu/academic-programs/ for Certificate/PhD application instructions.
  • You must be involved in a research project with a computational science component.
  • You must expect to be enrolled at U-M for both Fall 2019 and Winter 2020.
  • Fellows must stay involved with MICDE throughout the year by attending the seminar series, and other MICDE events. Fellows are required to present a poster at the MICDE Annual Symposium which will take place on April 9-10, 2020.

To apply please fill out this google form. You will need:

  • A single pdf file that includes: (1) your 1-page CV and a (2) 400-word narrative of your current research.
    In your narrative, please make sure to include what computational methods or algorithms you currently use.
  • The name and email of the faculty that will provide a letter of reference. If you are in a PhD program, this will be your advisor, and if you are in an MS program, this may be the program’s director or coordinator.

The deadline to apply is FRIDAY, JUNE 7, 2019 AT 5:00 P.M. E.T.

Questions? Please email micde-contact@umich.edu

Clare Boothe Luce Fellowships

The University of Michigan has been awarded a Clare Boothe Luce grant to fund the first 3 years of the PhD program of women enrolling in the PhD in Scientific Computing. This one-time opportunity will fund two Ph.D. students, one in the College of Engineering, and one in the College of Literature, Science and the Arts, who will start a PhD program in Fall 2019 at the University of Michigan in one of the selected departments, and are looking into applying scientific computing, computational sciences and algorithms in their research.

For more information, please visit micde.umich.edu/academic-programs/cbl/.

2018-2019 MICDE Fellows

Meet the recipients of the 2018-2019 MICDE Fellowships. We had 91 extraordinary applicants and nominations, and we are pleased to announce this year awardees.


2018-2019 Honorable Mentions

Ayoub Gouasmi, Aerospace Engineering
Joseph Kleinhenz, Physics
Kristina Lenn, Chemistry
Sophia Macarewich, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Luis Rivera-Rivera, Chemical Engineering
Allison Roessler, Chemistry
Benjamin Swerdlow, Materials Science and Engineering
Christopher Tossas, Biomedical Engineering
Logan Williams, Materials Science and Engineering
Qiushi Yu, Political Science

2017-2018 MICDE Fellows and Honorable Mentions

2017-2018 MICDE Fellows

Diksha Dhawan, Chemistry
Negar Farzaneh, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics
Kritika Iyer, Biomedical Engineering
Tibin John, Neuroscience
Bikash Kanungo, Mechanical Engineering
Yu-Han Kao, Epidemiology
Steven Kiyabu, Mechanical Engineering
Christiana Mavroyiakoumou, Mathematics
Ehsan Mirzakhalili, Mechanical Engineering
Colten Peterson, Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
James Proctor, Materials Science and Engineering
Evan Rogers, Biomedical Engineering
Longxiu Tian, Ross School of Business
Jipu Wang, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Yanming Wang, Chemistry
Zhenlin Wang, Mechanical Engineering
Alicia Welden, Chemistry
Anna White, Industrial Operations and Engineering
Chia-Nan Yeh, Physics
Yiling Zhang, Industrial Operations and Engineering

2017-2018 Honorable Mentions

Geunyeong Byeon, Industrial & Operations Engineering
Ayoub Gouasmi, Aerospace Engineering
Joseph Kleinhenz, Physics
Jia Li, Physics
Changjiang Liu, Biophysics
Vo Nguyen, Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics
Everardo Olide, Applied Physics
Qiyun Pan, Industrial & Operations Engineering
Pengchuan Wang, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Xinzhu Wei, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

2016-2017 MICDE Fellows

For the 2016-2017 academic year, MICDE received more than 60 applications of extraordinary quality, and we are pleased to announce the recipients:

  • Yuxi Chen (Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, Prof. Toth)
  • Sarah Cherng (Epidemiology, Prof. Meza)
  • Sambit Das (Mechanical Engineering, Prof. Gavini)
  • Arya Farahi (Physics, Prof. Evrard)
  • Jared Ferguson (Applied Physics, Prof. Jablonowski)
  • Eric Harper (Material Science and Engineering, Prof. Glotzer)
  • Mina Jafari (Chemistry, Prof. Zimmerman)
  • Yuchen Jiang (Industrial Operations & Engineering, Prof. Shi and Prof. Shen)
  • Joshua Kammeraad (Chemistry, Prof. Zimmerman)
  • Yilin Lin (incoming student, Mathematics, Prof. Silas Alben)
  • Eric Parish (Aerospace Engineering, Prof. Duraisamy)
  • Qicang Shen (incoming student, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, Prof. Downar)
  • Pascal Title (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Prof. Rabosky)
  • Sarah Verner (incoming student, Mechanical Engineering, Prof. Gavini)
  • Bowei Wu (Mathematics, Prof. Veerapaneni)
  • Yuqing Zhou (Mechanical Engineering, Prof. Saitou)